Early records indicate that All-American teams were loosely chosen before AHCA involvement. In some cases, the media or team managers were selectors. In other cases, only players from NCAA Tournament participants were eligible. Beginning in 1958, the AHCA oversaw the formal election of All-American squads. Information on the early teams came from newspaper accounts and may include spelling errors. Corrections should be forwarded to the AHCA.

Larry Ross - Minnesota GOALIE
Don Whiston - Brown GOALIE
Joe deBastiani - Michigan Tech DEFENSE
Bob Heathcott - Michigan DEFENSE
John Noah - North Dakota DEFENSE
Jim Starrak - Colorado College DEFENSE
Gil Burford - Michigan FORWARD
Neil Celley - Michigan FORWARD
Tony Frasca - Colorado College FORWARD
Jack Garrity - Boston University FORWARD
Cliff Harrison - Dartmouth FORWARD
John McKennell - Michigan FORWARD
Gordon Watters - Minnesota FORWARD