Four players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2016-17 have been named finalists for the 2017 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes two players who led their teams into the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Adrian, MI, this weekend. They are Kristin Lewicki, a senior forward from host Adrian College, and Melissa Sheeran, a junior forward from defending NCAA champion Plattsburgh State.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced this Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Adrian, MI.

Finalists for the 2016-17 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Kathryn Larson, Senior Forward, University of St. Thomas (Shoreview, MN)
2016-17 MIAC Player of the Year
Kristin Lewicki, Senior Forward, Adrian College (Moundsville, WV)
2016-17 NCHA Player of the Year
Melissa Sheeran, Junior Forward, Plattsburgh State (Schaghticoke, NY)
2016-17 ECAC West Player of the Year
Dani Sibley, Senior Forward, Wisconsin-River Falls (Monticello, MN)
2016-17 WIAC Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward