Finalists Announced For CCM/AHCA Men's Hockey Division III Coach Of The Year

Thirteen coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2016-17 have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the College Division Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach and sponsored by CCM, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Wednesday, April 26, in Naples, FL.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Of this year's finalists, three are past recipients: Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert College (2008, and 2011), Matt Loen of UW-Eau Claire (2013) and Mike McShane of Norwich (2008-10 and 2013.) Of the four NCAA semifinalists, only Mike McShane of Norwich was a conference Coach of the Year recipient.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships being played this weekend at the Utica Memorial Auditorium in Utica, NY.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2016-17 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Edward Jeremiah Award (Division III Coach of the Year) Finalists

Jeff Boeser, St. Thomas, MIAC Coach of the Year
Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert (NCHA), NCAA Semifinalist*
Bob Emery, Plattsburgh, SUNYAC Coach of the Year
Matt Greason, Trinity (NESCAC), NCAA Semifinalist
Seamus Gregory, Northland, NCHA Coach of the Year
Rob Haberbusch, Hamilton, NESCAC Coach of the Year
Adam Krug, Adrian (NCHA), NCAA Semifinalist
Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire, WIAC Coach of the Year*
Arlen Marshall, Manhattanville, ECAC West Coach of the Year
Mike McShane, Norwich, NEHC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist*
Erik Noack, UMass Dartmouth, MASCAC Coach of the Year
Ed Seney, Saint Anselm, Northeast 10 Coach of the Year
R.J. Tolan, Endicott, CCC Coach of the Year
* Past Jeremiah Award Winner

Previous Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston