Finalists Announced for 2021-22 Laura Hurd Award

Given to AHCA Division III Women’s Player of the Year

Nine players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2021-22 have been named finalists for the 2022 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women’s ice hockey player in the country. Due to Covid-19, the award was not presented in 2021. The list of finalists includes two finalists from 2020: Plattsburgh senior forward Annie Katonka and Middlebury senior forward Maddie Leidt.

All come from the United States, including two from Minnesota. It is an experienced group, with one junior, seven se- niors and one graduate student. There are eight forwards and one goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced on Thursday, March 17.

Finalists for the 2021-22 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Eliza Beaudin, SR F, Elmira
(Lewiston, ME) NEHC Player of the Year

Shana Cote, SR F, Suffolk
(Broomfield, CO) CCC Player of the Year

Callie Hoff, SR F, UW-River Falls
(Hermantown, MN) WIAC Player of the Year

Annie Katonka, SR F, Plattsburgh State
(Pittsburgh, PA) NEWHL Player of the Year

Madie Leidt, SR F, Middlebury College
(Des Moines, IA) NESCAC Player of the Year

Sophie Rausch, JR F, Hamline University
(Fergus Falls, MN) MIAC Co-Player of the Year

Georgiana Santullo, SR F, Utica University
(Woburn, MA) UCHC Player of the Year

Brandi Wilson, SR F, Trine University
(Fenton, MI) NCHA Player of the Year

Ary Ziakas, SR G, St. Mary's University
(Palatine, IL) MIAC Co-Player of the Year

Past Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward
2019 Bre Simon Hamline Forward
2020 Amanda Conway Norwich Forward
2021 Not Awarded