UW-River Falls’ Callie Hoff is 2022 Laura Hurd Award Winner As AHCA Division III Women’s Player of the Year

Callie Hoff, a senior forward from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, is the recipient of the 2022 Laura Hurd Award. The award, voted on by the nation's Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the NCAA Women's Division III level.

Hoff, the back-to-back WIAC Player of the Year, recently completed her decorated career with a UWRF single-season record 67 points off 26 goals and 41 assists during her final year as a Falcon. She led UWRF to a program-record 27 wins while the team reached the NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals along with the WIAC regular season title and O’Brien Cup Championship.

She currently is the Division III scoring leader this season with her point total of 67, in which she averaged 2.58 per game while scoring six power play goals, five shorthanded, and six game-winners.

A native of Hermantown, MN, Hoff became the Falcons’ all-time leading scorer this season and sits atop the record book with 197 points (97g-100a) in 120 games played.

Dani Sibley is the only Falcon in UWRF history to receive the Laura Hurd Award, garnering the accolade in 2017.

The runner-up for this year’s Hurd Award is Annie Katonka, a senior forward at Plattsburgh.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of of the Laura Hurd Award
Division III Women’s Hockey Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward
2019 Bre Simon Hamline Forward
2020 Amanda Conway Norwich Forward
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Callie Hoff UW-River Falls Forward