Early records indicate that All-American teams were loosely chosen before AHCA involvement. In some cases, the media or team managers were selectors. In other cases, only players from NCAA Tournament participants were eligible. Beginning in 1958, the AHCA oversaw the formal election of All-American squads. Information on the early teams came from newspaper accounts and may include spelling errors. Corrections should be forwarded to the AHCA.

First Team
Ike Bevins - Boston University GOALIE
Ross Smith - Michigan DEFENSE
Jim Starrak - Colorado College DEFENSE
Jack Garrity - Boston University FORWARD
Warren Lewis - Boston College FORWARD
Arnie Oss - Dartmouth FORWARD
Second Team
Jack McDonald - Michigan GOALIE
Joe McCusker - Boston College DEFENSE
Dan McKinnon - North Dakota DEFENSE
Len Ceglarski - Boston College FORWARD
Buzz Johnson - North Dakota FORWARD
Chris Ray - Colorado College FORWARD