Early records indicate that All-American teams were loosely chosen before AHCA involvement. In some cases, the media or team managers were selectors. In other cases, only players from NCAA Tournament participants were eligible. Beginning in 1958, the AHCA oversaw the formal election of All-American squads. Information on the early teams came from newspaper accounts and may include spelling errors. Corrections should be forwarded to the AHCA.

Jim Mattson - Minnesota GOALIE
Ray Picard - Northeastern GOALIE
Doug Binning - Middlebury DEFENSE
Herb LaFontaine - Rensselaer DEFENSE
Alex MacLellan - Michigan DEFENSE
Bob Monahan - Michigan Tech DEFENSE
Hank Bothfeld - Princeton FORWARD
Wellington Burtnett - Boston College FORWARD
Ben Cherski - North Dakota FORWARD
Frank Chiarelli - Rensselaer FORWARD
John Mayasich - Minnesota FORWARD
Dick Rodenhiser - Boston University FORWARD