Early records indicate that All-American teams were loosely chosen before AHCA involvement. In some cases, the media or team managers were selectors. In other cases, only players from NCAA Tournament participants were eligible. Beginning in 1958, the AHCA oversaw the formal election of All-American squads. Information on the early teams came from newspaper accounts and may include spelling errors. Corrections should be forwarded to the AHCA.

First Team
Spike Schultz - North Dakota GOALIE
Robert Kiley - Boston College DEFENSE
Ken Yackel - Minnesota DEFENSE
Ben Cherski - North Dakota FORWARD
Dick Dougherty - Minnesota FORWARD
John Mayasich - Minnesota FORWARD
Second Team
Bill Sloan - St. Lawrence GOALIE
Doug Binning - Middlebury DEFENSE
Jim Haas - Michigan DEFENSE
Frank Chiarelli - Rensselaer FORWARD
Wally Kilrea - Yale FORWARD
Abbie Moore - Rensselaer FORWARD