Dani Sibley Of UW-River Falls Is D-III Women's Hockey Player Of The Year

Dani Sibley, a senior forward from Wisconsin-River Falls and the leading scorer in NCAA Division III women's hockey, is the recipient of the 2017 Laura Hurd Award. The award, voted on by the nation's Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the NCAA Women's Division III level.

A native of Monticello, MN, Sibley recorded 27-38-65 in 29 games this season, leading the nation in assists and shorthanded goals (4). In her remarkably consistent career, the two-time All-American had 81 goals and 87 assists for 168 points. Included among those 81 goals were 7 career SHGs and 15 GWGs. She was chosen WIAC Player of the Year this season.

"Dani has worked extremely hard every year to become the player that she is today," said UW-River Falls head coach Joe Cranston. "She is not only, the best player I have ever coached, but also the best player I have ever seen at the DIII level. Dani is also a two-way player; she is a back checking machine, and she leads our forwards in blocked shots.

"Since joining the WIAC four years ago, Dani has lead our team to four straight regular season conference championships, and four straight conference tournament championships. She helped her team to three straight NCAA Frozen Four championships, and she dominated in those games. Dani has played in nine NCAA tournament games over the past three years, and she scored four goals and seven assists for 11 points in those games. Dani is a leader, team captain, a very good student and an all around great kid. She is truly the best player I have ever had the privilege of coaching."

Sibley is the first player from the WIAC to win the Hurd Award and only the fourth skater from the West to be so honored in the 18-year history of the award. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award was Kristin Lewicki, a senior forward from Adrian College and Moundsville, WV. Lewicki, whose squad is competing this weekend in the NCAA Division III Championships in Adrian, MI, is two points behind Sibley with 63 points this season.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward