Minnesota Duluth's Maura Crowell Is CCM/AHCA University Division Women's Coach of the Year

For leading Minnesota Duluth to a 25-7-5 record and into the 2017 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship tournament, Maura Crowell has been named the CCM/AHCA University Division Women's Coach of the Year for 2016-17. Crowell, in just her second year as a Division I head coach, led UMD into the WCHA Championship Game before bowing 4-1 to Wisconsin, the #1 team in the nation. Her squad reached the conference final by virtue of a 2-1 double overtime win over the University of Minnesota, whose second place regular season finish was one spot ahead of the Bulldogs. Minnesota got revenge with a 1-0 season-ending defeat of UMD in the NCAA Quarterfinals. Crowell's two-year record in Duluth is 40-28-6 and her career mark is 136-88-14.

Prior to her arrival in Duluth, Crowell spent five seasons at Harvard, including as Harvard's associate head coach in 2014-15 after filling an interim head coaching role in 2013-14 (guiding Harvard to a 23-7-4 record.) She was a Crimson assistant coach from 2010-13. Prior to signing on with the Crimson, Crowell built an impressive resume over five years (2005-10) at the University of Massachusetts-Boston helm. During her time behind the Beacon bench, she rolled up an overall record of 73-53-4 -- making her UMass-Boston's all-time winningest coach -- and was chosen the ECAC East Coach of the Year in 2009-10.

Crowell's collegiate coaching resume also includes a two-season stint (2003-05) as an assistant coach at Connecticut College, where she helped the Camels to their first first-ever playoff appearance. Crowell came to Connecticut College from St. Mark's School in Southborough, Mass., where she doubled as an assistant women's hockey coach and junior varsity lacrosse coach.

A Mansfield, Mass. native, Crowell enjoyed a rewarding four-year playing career at Colgate University and helped the Raiders to three straight ECAC playoff appearances and a spot in the 2000 ECAC championship game. She graduated from Colgate in 2002 with a bachelor's degree in German and earned her Master's of the Art of Teaching from Connecticut College in 2005. Crowell was assisted this season by Laura Bellamy, Chris Connolly and Chris Esposito. The runner-up for this year's CCM/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award was four-time recipient Mark Johnson of the University of Wisconsin, the top-ranked team in the NCAA this season.

The CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, April 28.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth