Chad Davis Of Adrian College Is CCM/AHCA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

Chad Davis of Adrian College has been named CCM/AHCA College Division Women's Coach of the Year for 2016-17. The announcement was made at the student-athlete banquet for the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played in Adrian, MI.

Currently in his 6th season at the helm of the Adrian women's hockey team, Davis brings an 18-game winning streak into Friday night's NCAA semifinal against Gustavus Adolphus College. The Bulldogs were 27-2-0 on the year with both losses dealt by SUNY Plattsburgh, a potential championship game opponent. His overall record at Adrian is 127-30-9, including 52-5-1 over the last two seasons. A perfect 18-0-0 in NCHA play this season, Adrian won the conference championship with a 5-1 final win over Lake Forest and advanced to the NCAA semifinals with a 5-4 OT victory over Elmira College in the quarterfinals.

Prior to joining the Adrian staff, Davis spent the 2009-2010 season as a volunteer assistant coach at NCAA Division I Robert Morris University in Moon Township, Pa., where he worked with the Colonials goaltenders that finished first in the Atlantic Hockey Conference in team save percentage and goals-against average in overall play.

Before joining the coaching ranks, Davis played professionally for the Laredo Bucks of the Central Hockey League. He played his college hockey with Division I American International College, appearing in 52 games from 2001-04. He graduated from AIC in 2004 with a bachelor of science degree in business administration.

Davis was assisted this season by Shawn Skelly. The runner-up for this year's award was Kevin Houle of top-ranked SUNY Plattsburgh. Houle has received the award six times, including last year.

The CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Friday, April 28.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2015 Dean Jackson, Elmira
2016 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2017 Chad Davis, Adrian College