Mike McShane Of Norwich Earns Fifth CCM/AHCA Men's College Division Coach Of The Year Award

Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on April 26 in Naples, FL

For leading Norwich University into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockley Championships, Mike McShane has been named winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA College Division Men's Coach of the Year. It is the fifth such honor for McShane who also captured this award in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2010.

Norwich enters Friday's NCAA semifinal in Utica against Adrian College on a 23-game unbeaten streak (21-0-2) and bringing a 25-1-3 overall record to the event. In 36 years as a head coach, McShane is 720-341-67 in 36 years spent at Norwich (22 years), Providence (9) and St. Lawrence (5).

This year, for leading Norwich University to its 18th regular season title in the past 19 seasons, Mike McShane was recognized as the NEHC Coach of the Year by his peers. His Cadets squad rank in the top ten nationally in both team offense (4.28 g/gm—8th) and team defense (1.72 g/gm—3rd). Norwich led the NEHC in scoring offense (4.44 g/gm), scoring defense (1.44 g/gm), power play (29.5%) and special teams net (+16). McShane also notched his 700th career win this season, becoming only the seventh coach in NCAA hockey history at any level to amass the 700 mark.

A native of Wakefield, MA, McShane was an outstanding forward for Charlie Holt in the University of New Hampshire Class of 1971. He got his start in coaching at the New Hampton School and as an assistant at Dartmouth College before launching his head coaching career at St. Lawrence.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. McShane was assisted this year by Steve Mattson, Alec Thieda, Bryce Currier and Cap Raeder. The runner-up for the Jeremiah Award was Rob Haberbusch of Hamilton College.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA).

Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, April 26.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich