Finalists Announced for 2017-18 Laura Hurd Award Given to AHCA Division III Women's Player of the Year

Seven players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2017-18 have been named finalists for the 2018 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes one repeat finalist from 2017: Melissa Sheeran, a senior forward from defending Plattsburgh State. In addition to Sheeran, two other finalists will compete at this year's NCAA Women's Division III Ice Hockey Frozen Four at Norwich: Elmira College senior forward Sarah Hughson and Norwich sophomore forward Amanda Conway.

Six of the nominees are seniors and one is a sophomore. All come from the United States, including three from Minnesota and one each from Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts and New York.Six are forwards and one is a goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced this Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Northfield, VT

Finalists for the 2017-18 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Amanda Conway, Sophomore Forward, Norwich University
(Methuen, MA) 2017-18 NEHC Player of the Year
Allison Borgstrom, Senior Forward, University of St. Thomas
(Lindstrom, MN) 2017-18 MIAC Player of the Year
Sarah Hughson, Senior Forward, Elmira College
(East Haddam, CT) 2017-18 UCHC Player of the Year
Carly Moran, Senior Forward, Wisconsin-River Falls
(Winona, MN) WIAC Player of the Year
Melissa Sheeran, Senior Forward, Plattsburgh State*
(Schaghticoke, NY) 2017-18 NEWHL Player of the Year
Olivia Spellmire, Senior Forward, Lake Forest College
(Bloomington, MN) 2017-18 NCHA Player of the Year
Sam Walther, Senior Goaltender, Hamilton College
(Gambrills, MD) 2017-18 NESCAC Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward