2017-18 University Division Women's Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Seven coaches who enjoyed on-ice success during the 2017-18 season have been named finalists for the CCM/AHCA University Division Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be announced this Thursday in Minneapolis and will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Friday, April 27, in Naples, FL. Only one of the finalists is a former winner of the award: four-time recipient Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011.)

To be a finalist for this award, one must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or take your team to the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey National Collegiate Championship semifinals. The winner will be announced on Thursday at the student-athlete banquet of this year's championship in Minneapolis, MN.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2017-18 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey
Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Matt Desrosiers, Clarkson University—ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Greg Fargo, Colgate University — NCAA Semifinalist
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin — NCAA Semifinalist*
Nadine Muzzerall, The Ohio State University — WCHA Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Tom O'Malley, Sacred Heart University — NEWHA Coach of the Year
Richard Reichenbach, University of Maine — Hockey East Coach of the Year
Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst University — CHA Coach of the Year

*Previous Winner

Previous Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth