Plattsburgh's Sheeran is 2017-18 Laura Hurd Award Winner As AHCA Division III Women's Player of the Year

Melissa Sheeran, a senior forward from Plattsburgh State and Schaghticoke, NY, is the recipient of the 2018 Laura Hurd Award. The award, voted on by the nation's Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the NCAA Women's Division III level. Sheeran is wrapping up a remarkable career at this weekend's NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being hosted by Norwich University. Having compiled 18-29-47 in 28 games this year, Sheeran has career marks of 96 goals and 88 assists for 184 points in 110 games. She is a three-time First Team CCM/AHCA All- American.

Said Plattsburgh head coach Kevin Houle, "Melissa has become a complete player in her time as a Cardinal, going from a one-dimensional goal scorer to a selfless team player who competes in all three zones. Our team captain and a strong role model for her teammates, she is one of the hardest working players on the team. Melissa is always encouraging and positive; she is not only our best player but is a humble team leader.

"Melissa is highly respected and admired on campus and within the department. Not only because of her accomplishments, but more so because of how she treats people and her humble outlook."

Sheeran is a Fitness and Wellness Major who will graduate this May. During her time at Plattsburgh, Sheeran has been involved in the local learn to skate program in Plattsburgh. She also has worked and volunteered in the athletic training department and is a threeyear member of SAAC.

Sheeran is the fourth player from Plattsburgh to win the Hurd Award, following Danielle Blanchard in 2008, Teal Gove in 2013, and Sydney Aveson in 2014. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award is Carly Moran, a senior forward at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls and a native of Winona, MN.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward