Colgate's Greg Fargo is 2017-18 CCM/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

For leading his team to the best record in program history and into the semifinals of the NCAA National Collegiate Championship, Greg Fargo of Colgate University has been chosen CCM/AHCA Women's Division I Coach of the Year. Fargo has led the Red Raiders to a 33-5-1 record heading into an NCAA semifinal showdown with the University of Wisconsin on Friday evening in Minneapolis. Colgate advanced to the semifinals by virtue of a 3-1 win over Northeastern University in the quarterfinals. It marked the first time Colgate had hosted an NCAA game and advanced to the championship round.

Fargo is in his 10th season as an NCAA head coach and is finishing his sixth with Colgate. His career mark is 189-116-23, 105-93-18 at Colgate. He has brought the program to great heights in a hurry with 77 wins over the past three seasons compared to just 28 wins in his first three. This year's club was the first to win 30 games in a schedule that saw separate unbeaten streaks of seven, nine and ten games.

In addition to Fargo's success with the Colgate program, he has also earned kudos as an assistant coach for Canada's Under-18 National Team. The Canadians earned a silver medal in January at the 2016 IIHF U18 Women's World Championship, and Fargo continues to be an important part of the women's amateur hockey program in his native country.

Prior to Colgate, Fargo spent four seasons as the successful head coach at Elmira College (2008-12). He recorded an 84-23-5 (.772) record at Elmira, including a Division III-best 24 wins during the 2008-09 season. He earned 2009 ECAC West Co-Coach of the Year honors and was a two-time nominee for AHCA Coach of the Year.

Fargo is a 2006 graduate of Elmira, where he received a bachelor's degree in adolescence education and social studies. In his playing tenure at Elmira, Fargo's goaltending led his team to two appearances in the ECAC West Championship finals and NCAA Division III Frozen Four. Fargo left holding the all-time career saves and minutes-played records at Elmira, recording a combined 2,565 saves in 5,123 minutes during his four seasons. When he departed, his 2005-06 save percentage of .926 was the all-time best at Elmira, while his goals-against average in that same season ranked him second in the program's 34-year history.

Following graduation, Fargo served on the men's ice hockey coaching staff at Canisius, where his responsibilities with the Golden Griffins included the planning and implementation of game and practice plans, as well as scouting, video analysis, community outreach and recruiting.

A native of Kingston, Ontario, Fargo earned his master's degree from Canisius in physical education. He and his wife, Katie, reside in Hamilton with their daughters, Harper and Emerson.

Fargo was assisted this season by Sophie Leclerc and Stefan Decosse. The runner-up for this year's CCM/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award was Matt Desrosiers of Clarkson University.

Fargo will receive his award at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, April 27.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate