Colin Larkin of UMass Boston Wins Sid Watson Award As 2017-18 AHCA Division III Men's Player of the Year

Colin Larkin, a senior forward from UMass Boston and Waterford, MI, has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2018 winner of the Sid Watson Award, symbolic of the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player. Larkin went 24-22-46 in 27 games this year, finishing his career with a line of 64-84-148 in 111 career games. His point totals went up each season as did his honors. He is now a two-time NEHC Player of the Year, two-time first team CCM All American, and was just named winner of the Joe Concannon Award by the Gridiron Club of Boston as the best American-born Division III player in New England.

Over the past four seasons, UMass Boston enjoyed an aggregate record of 74-30-7 (.698). Despite high expectations, and the additional responsibility of being team captain, Colin's senior season was the best of his four in a UMass Boston jersey.

"Everyone has seen what Colin has accomplished on the ice, including being the first UMass Boston player ever to sign an NHL contract (with the Edmonton Oilers)," said UMass Boston heade coach Peter Belisle. "Yet Colin's character is what truly sets him apart. A young man of integrity, compassion, courage, and leadership who uses his talents to enrich, empower, and encourage others to emulate his example.

"When Colin entered as a freshman, the heckling from the other teams about 'not being as good as is brother' (NHL'er Dylan) began immediately and only intensified as his career went on. In the face of all the extra attention, Colin never took a retaliation penalty and handled himself with the utmost class, letting his play do the talking for him. Even unbiased NHL scouts took notice of Colin's ability to play through an awful lot."

An active member in the community, Colin volunteered his time with the Special Olympics, Read for the Record, and last summer gave back to over 250 members of his home community of Waterford, Michigan, through the Larkin Summer Hockey School. Colin is set to graduate on-time with a degree in Marketing from the College of Management. An accomplishment achieved while balancing the demands of being a student, a collegiate hockey player, and working as a checkout clerk at a local store on multiple nights per week.

The runner-up for this year's Sid Watson Award was Tanner Karty, a junior forward from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and Oklahoma City, OK.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Division III Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward