Second Annual AHCA "All American Scholars" Announced for D1 Hockey

Division I Men (271) and Women (217) Recognized by the AHCA for 2017-18 Excellence

The American Hockey Coaches Association (ARCA) is once again recognizing varsity ice hockey players who at­tained a 3.6 GPA each semester and participated in 40% of their school's games with the first announced group of 2017-18 "Krampade All American Scholars." The names of 488 Division I men and women are being released today and their Division II-III counterparts will be announced in the coming weeks. In the first year of this program a year ago, a total of 1,261 athletes reached this standard. A small number of waivers to the 40% participation requirement was granted due to injury or for back-up goaltenders.

"We are extremely proud of this group of student-athletes who have competed at the highest levels of the game on the ice and matched that performance in the classroom," said ARCA executive director Joe Bertagna. "The sport demands a great deal from these athletes so it is a great statement they make, individually and collectively, with their ability to attain this level of academic achievement."

The following "All American Scholars" should be singled out:

  • Sydney Baldwin, Senior Defenseman from the University of Minnesota: First Team All American on the ice.
  • Shea Tiley, Senior Goalie from Clarkson University: First Team All American on the ice.
  • Sydney Peters, Senior Goalie from the University of Minnesota: 2018 Hockey Humanitarian Award recipient.

KrampadeKrampade, LLC, is a Lincoln, Nebraska-based company focused on mitigating and preventing cramp formation, while enhancing performance using our patent-pending formulations. The beauty of Krampade® is the depth and breadth of its consumer base, which translates into helping a lot of people resolve their issues with cramping in an effective, cost-efficient manner. Their website is at

Please click here for the list of honorees from NCAA Men's and Women's Division I ice hockey (listed by 2017-18 conference affiliation.) The Division II-III list will be released in early August.