Finalists Announced for 2019 Laura Hurd Award

Eight players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2018-19 have been named finalists for the 2019 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes one repeat finalist from 2018: Amanda Conway, a junior forward from Norwich University. Three of the finalists will compete at this year's NCAA Women's Division III Ice Hockey Frozen Four at the University of St. Thomas: Plattsburgh senior forward Courtney Moriarty, Hamline junior forward Bre Simon and St. Thomas senior goaltender Kenzie Torpy. Three of the nominees are seniors, three are juniors and two are sophomores. All come from the United States, including two each from Minnesota and Wisconsin and one each from Connecticut, Florida, Illinois and Massachusetts. Seven are forwards and one is a goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced this Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship at St. Thomas.

Finalists for the 2018-19 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Rachel Anderson, Sophomore Forward, St. Scholastica
(Shoreview, MN) NCHA Player of the Year

Amanda Conway, Junior Forward, Norwich University*
(Methuen, MA) NEHC Player of the Year

Katie Granato, Senior Forward, Elmira College
(Naperville, IL) UCHC Player of the Year

Meghan Halloran, Sophomore Forward, Williams College
(Darien, CT) NESCAC Player of the Year

Courtney Moriarty, Senior Forward, Plattsburgh State
(Estero, FL) NEWHL Player of the Year

Bre Simon, Junior Forward, Hamline University
(Elk River, MN)

Kenzie Torpy, Senior Goaltender, St. Thomas
(Oregon, WI) MIAC Player of the Year

Courtney Wittig, Junior Forward, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
(Green Bay, WI) WIAC Player of the Year

* Hurd Finalist in 2018

Previous Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward