2018-19 Division III Women's CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Eleven coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2018-19 have been named finalists for the CCM/AHCA NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention Friday, May 3, in Naples, FL. The finalists include six-time winner Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh (2006, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016). None of the other 10 finalists have been so honored and three of them — Chris Baudo of Nazareth, Shawn Skelly of Adrian and Taylor Wasylk of Suffolk are all first-year coaches.

To be considered a finalist, one must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. The winner will be announced Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship at the University of St. Thomas.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2018-19 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey
College Division Coach of the Year Finalists

Chris Baudo, Nazareth, UCHC Coach of the Year
Joe Cranston, UW-River Falls, WIAC Coach of the Year
Natalie Darwitz, Hamline, Frozen Four Coach
Rick Filighera, Cortland, NEWHL Coach of the Year
Meghan Gillis, Williams, NESCAC Coach of the Year
Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh, Frozen Four Coach*
Jackie MacMillan, St. Scholastica, NCHA Coach of the Year
Andy McPhee, Endicott, CHC Coach of the Year
Tom Palkowski, St. Thomas, MIAC Coach of the Year and Frozen Four Coach
Shawn Skelly, Adrian, Frozen Four Coach
Taylor Wasylk, Suffolk, NEHC Coach of the Year

*Former Recipient of this award.

Previous Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2015 Dean Jackson, Elmira
2016 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2017 Chad Davis, Adrian College
2018 Mark Bolding, Norwich