Hamline's Bre Simon is 2019 Laura Hurd Award Winner As AHCA Division III Women's Player of the Year

Bre Simon, a junior forward from Hamline University and Elk River, MN, is the recipient of the 2019 Laura Hurd Award. The award, voted on by the nation's Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the NCAA Women's Division III level.

Simon leads the nation in scoring with a line of 26-37-63 in 28 games heading into Friday's NCAA semifinal vs. the University of St. Thomas, host of this year's NCAA Women's Division III Frozen Four. Through three seasons, Simon has 74-72-146. She averages better than 2.25 points per game. Said Pipers head coach Natalie Darwitz, "Bre scored a point against every single team she faced this season. She is the backbone of our team and it begins and ends with Bre. She is a coach's dream. Not only does she put up points, but she does all of the little things you love to see as a coach, both on and off the ice."

From late November through early February, Simon helped Hamline to a 17-game undefeated stretch (14-0-3), in which she averaged 2.35 points per game.

Simon is the first player from Hamline to win the Hurd Award. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award is Kenzie Torpy, a senior goaltender at the University of St. Thomas and a native of Oregon, WI.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward
2019 Bre Simon Hamline Forward