Finalists Announced for 2018-19 Sid Watson Award

Given to AHCA Division II-III Men's Player of the Year

Ten players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2018-19 have been named finalists for the 2019 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division II-III men's ice hockey player in the country. Two of the finalists are repeat honorees from last year: Adrian College senior defenseman Cory Dunn and University of New England senior forward Brady Fleurent. Five of the finalists are from the United States, three are from Canada and one each are from France and Switzerland. Four are seniors, four are juniors and two are sophomores.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Sid Watson Award will be announced on Thursday, March 21, during the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Championship student-athlete banquet at Stevens Point,WI.

2018-2019 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Tom Aubrun, Junior Goaltender, Norwich University
(Chamonix, France) NEHC Co-Player of the Year

Cory Dunn, Senior Defenseman, Adrian College*
(Trenton, MI) Four-Time All-American

Sascha Figi, Sophomore Forward, Fitchburg State
(Kloten, Switzerland) MASCAC Player of the Year

Brady Fleurent, Senior Forward, U. of New England*
(Biddeford, ME) 2017-18 Two-Time CCC Player of the Year

Matt Lippa, Senior Forward, Manhattanville
(Richmond Hill, ON) UCHC Co-Player of the Year

Devin McDonald, Senior Goaltender, Geneseo
(Calgary, AB) Leads Nation with 1.12 GAA

Connor Powell, Junior Forward, Elmira College
(Merrimack, NH) UCHC Co-Player of the Year

Connor Ryckman, Sophomore Goaltender, UW-Stevens Point
(Minesing, ON) WIAC Player of the Year

Tim Sestak, Junior Goaltender, Wesleyan
(Darien, CT) NESCAC Player of the Year

Hunter Vorva, Junior Goaltender, Marian
(Kalamazoo, MI) NCHA Player of the Year

* Was also a finalist in 2018

Previous Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Division III Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward