Cornell's Doug Derraugh is 2018-19 CCM/AHCA CCM/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

For leading his team to the ECAC Championship and into the semifinals of the NCAA National Collegiate Championship, Doug Derraugh of Cornell University has been chosen CCM/AHCA Women's Division I Coach of the Year. It is the second such honor for Derraugh who was previously recognized in 2010.

Cornell brings a record of 24-5-6 into an NCAA semifinal showdown with the University of Minnesota on Friday afternoon (4:00 p.m.) in Hamden, CT. Cornell advanced to the semifinals by virtue of a 3-2 overtime win over Northeastern University in the quarterfinals.The win qualified Cornell for the Frozen Four for the first time since 2012.

Cornell won the regular season title in ECAC Hockey this season, earning Derraugh his fourth ECAC Coach of the Year award. Through 14 seasons in Ithaca, Derraugh has compiled a career record of 267-149-42. This is the fourth time he has led Cornell to the Frozen Four, the previous three times coming in consecutive years, 2010-2012.

A 1991 graduate of Cornell, Derraugh took over the Big Red program after a 13-year career playing professionally in Europe, seeing action with nine different teams in some of the top leagues in Norway, Germany, Austria and Finland. He scored more than 100 points in a season twice and posted 30 points or more 10 times. He ended his professional career with 257 goals and 347 assists in 637 professional contests. In his final season, Derraugh also served as special teams coach for his team.

While a student at Cornell, Derraugh played in all 119 contests for the Big Red over his four years, helping to lead the Big Red to an NCAA tournament appearance and a second-place finish in the ECAC as a senior co-captain. He led the team in scoring in his final season with 30 goals and 36 assists, earning second-team All-Ivy League and honorable mention All-ECAC honors. His 30 goals in the 1990-91 season are the most ever scored by a senior at Cornell. Overall, he ranks 10th all-time at Cornell in career scoring with 153 points on 66 goals and 87 assists.

A native of Arnprior, Ontario, Derraugh graduated from Cornell in 1991 with a degree in biological sciences. He and his wife, Louise, who serves as the team's director of operations, have three children.

Derraugh was assisted this season by Edith Racine, Dean Jackson and Louise Derraugh. The runner-up for this year's CCM/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award was Dave Flint of Northeastern University.

Derraugh will receive his award at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, May 3.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell