2019 AHCA Convention Opens This Week in Naples

Wednesday "Celebration of Men's Hockey" Launches Annual Event
Meetings, Trade Show Follow Through Saturday

The annual meeting of the nation's men's and women's college hockey coaches — along with other stakeholders in amateur hockey— will begin this Wednesday at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club in Naples, FL. It marks the 28th consecutive year for the coaches at this site.

The agenda (Download 2019 Naples Convention Guide and Agenda) begins Wednesday afternoon at 4:00 when women's hockey coaches hold the first meeting of the four-day event, followed by the annual "Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey," which features the presentation of this year's Coach of the Year awards.

"This is an important week in the hockey season for so many of us," said AHCA Executive Director Joe Bertagna. "We look back and recognize individuals who have meant so much to the game and we look ahead, through a variety of speakers and issues sessions, to ensure that we grow as a sport and as individuals."

The Convention is a mix of meetings, keynote speakers, an annual trade show and social events. Among the agenda items:

  • NCAA-related discussion meetings on rules, legislation and post-season tournaments.

  • An impressive line-up of keynote speakers, featuring two members of the NHL Coaches Association: Pat Fershweiler of the Detroit Red Wings and Todd Woodcroft of the Winnipeg Jets.

  • Coach of the Year banquets for men's and women's ice hockey, sponsored by USA Hockey.

  • The annual meeting of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA), the governing body for college hockey's non-varsity programs.

  • A two-day trade show (Thursday night and Friday midday) involving vendors from 70+ hockey-related companies.

  • Download 2019 Naples Convention Guide and Agenda

Among the individuals being recognized, beyond the Coach of the Year honorees, is longtime University of Michigan head coach Red Berenson, who will receive the John MacInnes Award on Wednesday night, an honor named in memory of the longtime Michigan Tech coach. Berenson is the only person to win Coach of the Year honors at both the NHL and NCAA levels.

The four NCAA Coach of the Year recipients are: Greg Carvel, UMass (D1 Men); Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point (D3 Men); Doug Derraugh, Cornell (D1 Women); Tom Palkowski, St. Thomas (D3 Women). The annual "Celebration of Women's Hockey" is scheduled for Friday evening.

The Convention wraps up Saturday at noon.