Finalists Announced for 2019-20 Laura Hurd Award

Seven players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2019-20 have been named finalists for the 2020 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes one repeat finalist from 2019: Norwich senior forward Amanda Conway, the NEHC Player of the Year for the third straight year.

Four of the nominees are seniors and three are juniors. All come from the United States, including two from Massachusetts and theothers from five different states. Five are forwards, one is a defenseman and one is a goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced on Thursday, March 26.

Finalists for the 2019-20 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Erin Connolly, Senior Goaltender, UW-Eau Claire
(Mequon, WI) WIAC Player of the Year
Amanda Conway, Senior Forward, Norwich University
(Methuen, MA) NEHC Player of the Year
Emma Crocker, Junior Forward, Elmira College
(Abington, MA) UCHC Player of the Year
Annie Katonka, Junior Forward, Plattsburgh State
(Pittsburgh, PA) NEWHL Player of the Year
Madie Leidt, Junior Forward, Middlebury College
(Killingworth, CT) NESCAC Player of the Year
Jade Meier, Senior Forward, Endicott College
(Fairbanks, AK) CHC Player of the Year
Kelly O'Sullivan, Senior Defense, Adrian College
(Inverness, IL) NCHA Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward
2019 Bre Simon Hamline Forward