Finalists Announced for 2019-20 Sid Watson Award

Given to AHCA Division II-III Men's Player of the Year

Nine players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2019-20 have been named finalists for the 2020 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division II-III men's ice hockey player in the country. Only one of the finalists is a repeat honoree from last year: Norwich University senior goaltender Tom Aubrun. Eight of the finalists are from the United States and one is from France. Five are seniors, three are juniors and one is a sophomore. Seven are forwards, one a defenseman and one a goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Sid Watson Award will be announced on Friday, March 27.

2019-2020 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Tom Aubrun, Senior Goaltender, Norwich University*
(Chamonix, France) NEHC Player of the Year
Peter Bates, Junior Forward, St. Norbert College
(Evanston, IL) NCHA Player of the Year
Ryan Bloom, Senior Forward, U. of New England
(Northville, MI) CCC Player of the Year
Donald Flynn, Sophomore Forward, Wilkes
(Randolph, NJ) UCHC Co-Player of the Year
Barclay Gammill, Senior Forward, Trinity
(New Canaan, CT) NESCAC Player of the Year
Christian Hausinger, Junior Defenseman, UW-River Falls
(Anchorage, AK) WIAC Player of the Year
Conlan Keenan, Senior Forward, Geneseo
(Rochester, NY) SUNYAC Player of the Year
Connor Landrigan, Junior Forward, Utica
(Tripoli, PA) UCHC Co-Player of the Year
Alex Lester, Senior Forward, Franklin Pierce
(Methuen, MA) Northeast-10 Player of the Year

* Was also a finalist in 2019

Previous Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Division III Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward
2019 Devin McDonald Geneseo Goalie