Cam Ellsworth of Norwich Is Edward Jeremiah Award Winner Honored As 2019-20 AHCA Division II-III Men's Coach of the Year

For leading Norwich University to a 24-2-2 record and the Cadets' second straight NEHC Tournament title, Cam Ellsworth has been named winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. It is the first such award for Ellsworth and the seventh time a Norwich coach has been so honored.

Ellsworth has compiled a 47-7-5 (.839 winning percentage) record in his brief career at Norwich, including an 18-game unbeaten streak that was active at the time this year's NCAA Tournament was cancelled. Norwich has a remarkable 33-1-4 record over the last two seasons after January 1.

Overall, Norwich broke nine individual and team NCAA Division III all-time records during the 2019-20 season. Individually, senior goalie Tom Aubrun set new all-time records for consecutive shutouts (9), shutout minutes (572:31) and most shutouts in a single season (13). He also set new all-time career records for save percentage (.946) and goals against average (1.27). As a team, Norwich set the record for team shutouts (14), lowest team goals against average (.86) while also sharing the shutout streaks with Aubrun.

The Cadets had three players recognized as first team NEHC All-Conference and one as Third team. Aubrun was named Goalie of the Year and Player of the Year for the second straight year. Norwich outscored their opponents this season 105-24 including a 42-4 mark in the third period.

The Cadets penalty kill ranked second in the country at 93.2 %. They allowed five goals on the kill while scoring three shorthanded goals. Norwich was the second least penalized team in the country with just 7.4 minutes per game. Norwich grabbed the top spot in the National Rankings for nine weeks this season. The Cadets ranked in the Top 5 in the pairwise for nearly the entire season, including the majority of the second half at Number 1.

A 2005 graduate of Michigan Tech, Ellsworth was a four-year goaltender for the Huskies. After a brief professional career, he got his coaching start with a three-year stint at Sioux City of the USHL. He then spent seven seasons at UMass Lowell, contributing to some of the best seasons in the history of the River Hawks program.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Ellsworth was assisted this year by Steve Mattson, Bryce Currier and Chris Czarnota. The runners-up for the Jeremiah Award were Gary Heenan of Utica College, Pat Kelliher of Lake Forest College and Chris Schultz of SUNY Geneseo.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby College
2019 Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point
2020 Cam Ellsworth, Norwich