Tom Aubrun of Norwich Wins Sid Watson Award As 2019-20 AHCA Division III Men's Player of the Year

Tom Aubrun, a senior goaltender from Norwich University and Chamonix, France, has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2020 winner of the Sid Watson Award, symbolic of the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player. Aubrun concluded an outstanding career on a nine-game shutout streak (572:31 minutes), halted only by the cancellation of this year's NCAA Tournament.

Aubrun went 23-2-2 for Norwich this year, compiling an NCAA best 0.77 goals against average and a .967 save percentage. These number represent NCAA records, as does his 13 shutouts. Through 65 career games, Aubrun went 50-8-5, with a 1.27 GAA and a save percentage of .946. He is a two-time New England Hockey Conference Player of the Year and NEHC Tournament MVP.

Said Norwich head coach Cam Ellsworth, "Tom is the foundation of our team. His calming demeanor in the net gives our team a great deal of confidence shift to shift. None of his accomplishments have come easy. He came to Norwich as the third goalie and has worked to get to this point.

"Tom is a coach's dream. He is humble, hard-working and a class act. He has no expectations or ego and therefore he shows up every day ready to work and tries to get better. He is a joy to see every day for the coaching staff and his teammates. Academically, Tom carries a 3.77 GPA in Business Management. In the community, Tom has been very active in our youth hockey clinics we ran with the Northfield Youth Hockey Association."

The runner-up for this year's Sid Watson Award was Conlan Keenan, a senior forward from Geneseo State and Rochester, NY. Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Division III Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward
2019 Devin McDonald Geneseo Goalie
2020 Tom Aubrun Norwich Goalie