'Watch List' for 2021 Richter Award is Announced

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has announced a “Watch List” of 35 goalies who will compete for the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I hockey since 2014. The award was previously administered by “Let’s Play Hockey” magazine.

“This is a strong group of goaltenders and one of them will join the already impressive list of past recipients,” said Joe Bertagna, Secretary-Treasurer of the HCA. “While we are pleased to assume responsibility for this award, I wish to thank everyone at “Let’s Play Hockey” and the Herb Brooks Foundation who created and nurtured this award for the past seven years.”

A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, scouts and media — will pare this list down to approximately 15 names within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in April during the NCAA Frozen Four. A similar award to recognize the top female goalie in the NCAA will be announced later in the week

Past Richter Award Recipients: 2014 - Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell; 2015 - Zane McIntyre, North Dakota; 2016 - Thatcher Demko, Boston College; 2017 - Tanner Jaillet, Denver; 2018 - Cale Morris, Notre Dame; 2019 - Cayden Primeau, Northeastern; 2020 - Jeremy Swayman, Maine.

2020-21 Richter Award “Watch List”

Atlantic Hockey
Zack LaRocque, Air Force (SR - Arvada, CO)
Stefano Durante, AIC (SR - Brampton, ONT)
Jake Kucharski, AIC (FR - Erie, PA)
Trevin Kozlowski, Army (SR – Los Angeles, CA)
Nicholas Grabko, Bentley (FR - Channahon, IL)
Matt Ladd, Canisius (JR - Getzville, NY)
Erik Gordon, Holy Cross (JR - Duluth, GA)
Hank Johnson, Mercyhurst (SR - Minneapolis, MN)
Michael Corson, Niagara (JR - Darien, IL)
Noah West, Robert Morris (FR - Pittsboro, IN)

Big Ten
Strauss Mann, Michigan (JR – Greenwich, CT)
Drew DeRidder, Michigan State (JR – Fenton, MI)
Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota (SR – Mississauga, ONT)
Tommy Nappier, Ohio State (SR – St. Louis, MO)
Cameron Rowe, Wisconsin (FR - Wilmette, IL)

ECAC Hockey
Keith Petruzzelli, Quinnipiac (SR – Wilbraham, MA)
Emil Zetterquist, St. Lawrence (JR – Stockholm, Sweden)

Hockey East
Spencer Knight, Boston College (SO – Darien, CT)
Drew Commesso, Boston University (FR – Norwell, MA)
Tomas Vomacka, UConn (JR - Trutnov, Czech Republic)
Matt Murray, UMass (SR – St. Albert, AB)
Henry Welsch, UMass Lowell (FR – Lakeville, MN)
Jaxson Stauber, Providence (SO - Plymouth, MN)

Ludvig Persson, Miami (FR – Hindas, Sweden)
Ryan Fanti, Minnesota Duluth (SO – Thunder Bay, ONT)
Adam Scheel, North Dakota (JR – Lakewood, OH)
Isaiah Saville, Omaha (SO – Anchorage, AK)
David Hrenak, SCSU (SR - Povazska Bystrica, Slovakia)

Zach Driscoll, Bemidji State (SR - Apple Valley, MN)
Eric Dop, Bowling Green (SR - Lewis Center, OH)
Zack Rose, Bowling Green (SO - Paradise, NL)
Mareks Mitens, Lake Superior (SR - Ventspils, Latvia)
Dryden McKay, Minnesota State (JR - Downers Grove, IL)
Blake Pietila, Michigan Tech (SO - Howell, MI)

Garrett Metcalf, Long Island (GR – Salt Lake City, UT)