And Then There Were Three

Josie Bothun, Aerin Frankel and Loryn Porter are Final Three for First Women’s Hockey Goalie of the Year Award

The Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association has announced the final three candidates who remain in contention the first Women’s Hockey Goalie of the Year Award. They are Penn State freshman Josie Bothun, Northeastern senior Aerin Frankel and Maine senior Loryn Porter. Voting was carried out by a panel of coaches, administrators and members of the media from across the country.

The three finalists include two from the U.S. and one from Canada. Two are seniors and the third is a freshman. Only Frankel is still playing as her Northeastern Huskies are the top seed in the NCAA National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Championships that open up next week in Erie, PA. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, March 17, the day before next week’s NCAA semifinal games are played.

Three Finalists for the 2021 Women’s Hockey Goalie of the Year Award

playerJosie Bothun, Penn State
(FR – Wyoming, MN)
The only underclassman among the finalists, Bothun had a phenomenal rookie year for the Nittany Lions. She ranked second in the NCAA in Goals Against Average (1.44), wins (16) and minutes played (1,254).

playerAerin Frankel, Northeastern
(SR - Briarcliff Manor, NY)
Hockey East’s Co-Player of the Year and the only goalie among the ten Patty Kazmaier Award Finalists, Frankel led the NCAA in GAA, save percentage, wins and shutouts. She has led the Huskies to the top seed in the NCAA Tournament.

playerLoryn Porter, Maine
(SR – North Bay, ON)
A HEA Second Team All-Star, Porter ranked second in the NCAA in save percentage. She allowed one goal or less in 12 of 18 games, three of her losses being 1-0 games. Maine only scored 1.5 GPG and played its entire season on the road.