2020-21 Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Six coaches who enjoyed on-ice success during the 2020-21 season have been named finalists for the CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be announced on Friday, March 19. Three of the finalists are former winners of the award: four-time recipient Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011); 2017 recipient Maura Crowell of Minnesota Duluth; and 2018 winner Greg Fargo of Colgate.

To be a finalist for this award, one must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or advance to the NCAA semifinals. The New England Women's Hockey Alliance (NEWHA) did not choose a Coach of the Year winner this season as few schools competed.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2020-21 CCM/AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey Division I Coach of the Year Finalists

Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth — NCAA Semifinalist*
Greg Fargo, Colgate — ECAC Coach of the Year*
Dave Flint, Northeastern — Hockey East Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin — WCHA Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist*
Jeff Kampersal, Penn State — CHA Coach of the Year
Nadine Muzerall, Ohio State — NCAA Semifinalist

* Past Winner of the Coach of the Year Award

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2020 Doug Derraugh, Cornell