Northeastern’s Dave Flint is 2021 Winner of the CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award

For leading his team to the Hockey East championship and into the NCAA National Collegiate Championship Final, Dave Flint of Northeastern University has been chosen CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year. It is the first such honor for Flint who was the runner-up for this award last year.

Flint captured the Hockey East Coach of the Year title for the third straight season and has led the Northeastern Huskies to a 22-1-1 record, the most recent victories being a 3-2 OT win over Minnesota Duluth in the NCAA Semifinals and a 5-1 win over Robert Morris in the NCAA Quarterfinal Round. The win over the Bulldogs advanced Northeastern to the championship game for the first time in program history.

Entering the NCAA’s, Flint coached his team to an average of 4.29 goals per game, the highest of any NCAA program in 2020-21, while allowing just 0.79 goals per game, the lowest in the nation. The 0.79 goals against per game is the lowest in league history. Flint’s power play operated at a national-best 21.7% success rate, while their 95.2 penalty kill percentage was second in the NCAA. No team in the country fired more shots on goal than Northeastern’s 952. Additionally, Northeastern’s 18 goals allowed were the lowest nationally and their average of 21.74 shots on net allowed per game was second lowest.

Flint has a career record of 344-146-41, combing four varsity years at Saint Anselm College and 13 seasons with Northeastern. Since 2005, he has worked a variety of roles with USA Hockey, including a stint as an assistant coach with the 2010 U.S. Olympic Team.

A 1993 graduate of North Adams State College (now the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts), he was a four-year member as a goalie on the varsity men’s ice hockey team. He was named Team MVP as a senior. Flint received his bachelor’s degree in Biology with a concentration in Sports Medicine. He is an Athletic Trainer Certified and a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist.

Flint was assisted this season by Lindsay Berman, Nick Carpenito and Todd Lampert. The runner-up for this year’s CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award was Jeff Kampersal of Penn State University.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2020 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2021 Dave Flint, Northeastern