Minnesota’s Jack LaFontaine Wins 2021 Mike Richter Award

University of Minnesota senior Jack LaFontaine is the 2021 recipient of the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I ice hockey. The announcement was made tonight by the Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA), sponsor of the award.

LaFontaine enjoyed a phenomenal season with the Gophers, posting a 21-6 record, the 21 wins leading the NCAA as of the start of NCAA post-season play. He had a save percentage of .936 and a GAA of 1.74, those numbers earning him Big Ten Goaltender of the Year honors. A first team selection in the Big Ten, LaFontaine was a Hobey Baker Top Ten finalist.

The other finalists for this year’s Richter Award were Boston College sophomore Spencer Knight and Minnesota State junior Dryden McKay. A similar award to recognize the top female goalie in the NCAA was launched this season and the inaugural recipient was Northeastern University senior Aerin Frankel.

Mike Richter enjoyed a phenomenal playing career, highlighted by 14 seasons with the New York Rangers, leading them to the Stanley Cup in 1994, their first in 54 years. A member of the Hall of Fame, Richter was outstanding on a number of USA Hockey Teams, most notably the 1988 Olympic Team, the 1991 Canada Cup Team and as the MVP of the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Mike also played at the University of Wisconsin and earned a degree from Yale University.

Recipients of the Mike Richter Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2014 Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell
2015 Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
2016 Thatcher Demko, Boston College
2017 Tanner Jaillet, Denver
2018 Cale Morris, Notre Dame
2019 Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
2020 Jeremy Swayman, Maine
2021 Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota