Adam Krug of Adrian Is Edward Jeremiah Award Winner As 2021-22 AHCA Division II-III Men’s Coach of the Year

For leading Adrian College into the NCAA Men’s Division III Frozen Four at Lake Placid, NY, Adam Krug has been named winner of the 2022 Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men’s Coach of the Year. It is the first such award for Krug and Adrian.

Adam Krug is in his eighth season as head coach of the Adrian College men’s hockey team. The Bulldogs enter the Frozen Four with a 29-1 record and sit on a 29-game winning streak entering Friday’s NCAA semifinal vs. Augsburg University.

As a coach, Krug has won multiple NCHA regular season titles and NCHA playoff titles. He led the Bulldogs to an NCHA Regular Season Peters Cup Championship and an NCHA Tournament Harris Cup Championship in the 2021-22 season. He was named NCHA Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career. Earlier this season, he recorded his 168th career win to become the winningest coach in Adrian College (NCAA) men’s hockey history after passing former head coach Ron Fogarty. Krug enters the weekend with a career coaching record of 178-40-11. The 2021-22 season marks the fourth Frozen Four appearance for the Bulldogs, the third with Krug at the helm of the program.

Krug is a 2012 alumnus of Adrian College and sits near the top in multiple categories of the Adrian College record book. Krug played from 2007-09 with the Bulldogs, totaling 129 points, with 52 goals and 77 assists. He scored 77 of his career points during the 2007-08 season.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Krug was assisted this year by Adam Phillips, Jeremy Symington and Rob Hodnicki. The runner-up for this year’s Jeremiah Award was Kevin Swallow of the University of New England.

Mandigo was assisted this year by Ashley Salerno. The runner-up for this year's award was Chris Baudo of Nazareth College.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
CCM/AHCA Division III Coach of the Year
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby College
2019 Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point
2020 Cam Ellsworth, Norwich
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Adam Krug, Adrian College