Peter Bates of St. Norbert College Wins Sid Watson Award As 2021-22 AHCA Division III Men’s Player of the Year

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. – Peter Bates, a senior forward from St. Norbert College, is the recipient of the 2022 Sid Watson Award. The award, voted on by the nation’s Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the men’s NCAA Division III level by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Bates enjoyed a banner senior season for St. Norbert in 2021-22, registering 28 goals and 30 assists for 58 points in 31 games. Through the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division III Tournament, Bates leads all Division III players in goals per game at 0.97 and points per game at 1.97. His six game-winning goals is second nationally.

A native of Evanston, IL, Bates was selected as the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA) Player of the Year for the second time. Bates’ 28 goals and 58 points this season are the second-most in St. Norbert history, while his 30 assists are tied for third-most. Bates finished with 17 multi-point games this season, including each game in a seven-game stretch from Nov. 19 to Jan. 1 that saw him score 12 goals and 11 assists for 23 points.

Bates played in 123 games during his decorated career, tied for the most ever at St. Norbert. His career totals of 65 goals, 92 assists and 157 points are all third in school annals. Bates’ 15 career game-winning goals is a school record.

Bates is St. Norbert’s fifth Sid Watson Award winner. He joins forward Rob Smillie (1999), forward Maris Ziedins (2003), goaltender Kyle Jones (2018) and goaltender David Jacobson (2014) as St. Norbert Sid Watson Award winners. St. Norbert’s five Sid Watson Awards are the most for any school. St. Norbert finished 24-7 and advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament in its 20th all-time appearance.

The runner-up for this year’s Sid Watson Award was Ryan Black, a senior forward from Babson College and Pomfret, CT. Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward
2019 Devin McDonald Geneseo Goalie
2020 Tom Aubrun Norwich Goalie
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Peter Bates St. Norbert Forward