2022-23 Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Eight coaches who enjoyed on-ice success during the 2022-23 season have been named finalists for the CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be announced on Thursday, March 16. Four of the finalists are former Coach of the Year honorees. They are: Mark Bolding of Yale (2022), Dave Flint of Northeastern (2021), Brad Frost of Minnesota (2013 and 2014) and Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, 2009, and 2011). Mark Bolding also was named Division III Coach of the Year four times while at Norwich University (2010, 2011, 2012, 2018).

To be a finalist for this award, one must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or advance to the NCAA semifinals. The award will be presented on April 26 at the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2022-23 CCM/AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey Division I Coach of the Year Finalists

(* Past Winners of the Division I Coach of the Year Award)

Mark Bolding, Yale — ECAC Coach of the Year*
Dave Flint, Northeastern— Hockey East Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist*
Brad Frost, Minnesota — NCAA Semifinalist*
Brian Idalski, St. Cloud State — WCHA Co-Coach of the Year
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin — NCAA Semifinalist*
Jeff Kampersal, Penn State — CHA Coach of the Year
Nadine Muzerall, Ohio State — WCHA Co-Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Tara Watchorn, Stonehill — NEWHA Coach of the Year

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2020 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2021 Dave Flint, Northeastern
2022 Mark Bolding, Yale