Finalists Announced for 2023-24 Laura Hurd Award

Given to AHCA Division III Women’s Player of the Year

Fifteen players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2023-24 have been named finalists for the 2024 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women’s ice hockey player in the country. The list includes three repeat finalists: Hailey Holland of Gustavus, Maddie McCollins of UW-River Falls and UW-Eau Claire's Sophie Rausch, a finalist in both 2022 and 2023.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-timeAll-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005. The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced on Thursday, March 16.

Finalists for the 2023-24 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey Division III Player of the Year

Une Bjelland,GR F, Adrian College (Stavanger, Norway) NCHA Player of the Year

Livia Brooks, FY F, Norwich University (Walpole, MA) NEHC Player of the Year

Gabrielle Cox, GR F, Manhattanville College (Niverville, NY) UCHC Player of the Year Molly Goergen, JR G, SUNY Cortland (Eden Prairie, MN) SUNYAC Goaltender of the Year

Teaghan Hall, SO F, Endicott College (West Springfield, MA) CCC Co-Player of the Year

Anna Hanson, JR G, Bethel University (Stacy, MN) MIAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Hailey Holland, GR F, Gustavus Adolphus College (Aberdeen, SD) MIAC Offensive Player of the Year

Julia Masotta, GR F, SUNY Plattsburgh (Tewksbury, MA) SUNYAC Player of the Year

Maddie McCollins, SR F, UW-River Falls (Maple Grove, MN) WIAC Player of the Year

Katie McCoy, GR G, Gustavus Adolphus College (Grafton, WI)

Haley McKim, SR G, University of Southern Maine (Moncton, NB) NEHC Goaltender of the Year

Alyssa Murphy, SR F, Western New England University (Plymouth, MA) CCC Co-Player of the Year

Sophie Rausch, SR F, UW-Eau Claire
(Fergus Falls, MN) WIAC Co-Player of the Year

Meg Rittenhouse, SR F, Colby College
(Tampa, FL) NESCAC Player of the Year

Elizabeth Valley, SR D, Hamline University
(Forest Lake, MN) MIAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Past Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest Forward
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls Forward
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh Forward
2019 Bre Simon Hamline Forward
2020 Amanda Conway Norwich Forward
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Callie Hoff UW-River Falls Forward
2023 Darci Matson Aurora Forward