Finalists Announced for 2023-24 Sid Watson Award

Given to AHCA Division II-III Men’s Player of the Year

Fifteen players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2023-24 have been named finalists for the 2024 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division II-III men’s ice hockey player in the country. Two of the finalists are repeat honorees from 2023: UW-Stevens Point junior forward Fletcher Anderson and Endicott College senior forward Andrew Kurapov. Nine of the finalists are from the United States, four are from Canada, and one each hail from Slovakia and Ukraine. Six are seniors, five are juniors, and four are sophomores. Eight are forwards, five are goaltenders and two are defensemen.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Sid Watson Award will be announced on Wednesday, March 20 in Hartford, CT.

2023-24 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Fletcher Anderson, Junior Forward, UW-Stevens Point*
(Thunder Bay, ON) WIAC Co-Player of the Year

Devon Bobak, Sophomore Goalie, Trinity College
(Northwood, OH) NESCAC Player of the Year

Tate Brandon, Senior Goalie, Skidmore College
(Irvington, NY) NEHC Goaltender of the Year

Shane Bull, Senior Forward, Oswego State
(Brooklin, ON) SUNYAC Player of the Year

Artem Buzoverya, Senior Forward, Hobart College
(Kharkiv, Ukraine) NEHC Player of the Year

Liam Fraser, Junior Forward, St. Norbert College
(Calgary, AB)

Max Gutjahr, Sophomore Goalie, UW-Eau Claire
(Appleton, WI) WIAC Co-Player of the Year

Tyler Kostelecky, Sophomore Forward, Bethel University
(Maple Grove, MN) MIAC Offensive Player of the Year

Andrew Kurapov, Senior Forward, Endicott College*
(Corvallis, OR) CCC Player of the Year

Ty Outen, Junior Goalie, Stevenson University
(Tampa, FL) UCHC Goaltender of the Year

Ronny Paragallo, Junior Forward, Assumption University
(Huntington, NY) Northeast-10 Player of the Year

Will Redick, Sophomore Forward, Plymouth State University
(Collingwood, ON) MASCAC Player of the Year

Brian Scoville, Senior Defenseman, Utica University
(Agawam, MA) UCHC Player and Defensive Player of the Year

Jaden Shields, Senior Defenseman, Adrian College
(Royal Oak, MI) NCHA Co-Player of the Year

Samuel Vyletelka, Junior Goalie, Augsburg University
(Zilina, Slovakia) MIAC Defensive Player of the Year

* Was also a finalist in 2023

Past Winners of the Sid Watson Award
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie
2016 Jamie Murray Babson Goalie
2017 Evan Buitenhuis Hamilton Goalie
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston Forward
2019 Devin McDonald Geneseo Goalie
2020 Tom Aubrun Norwich Goalie
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Peter Bates St. Norbert Forward
2023 Matus Spodniak Adrian Forward