American Hockey Coaches Association Welcomes New Leadership Team for the 2024-25 Season

Steve Wiedler of UVM is new AHCA President
Forrest Karr of UMD begins first year as Executive Director

Now in its 78th year of serving amateur hockey, the American Hockey Coaches Association begins the 2024-25 season under new leadership. University of Vermont men’s head coach Steve Wiedler, formerly the AHCA’s Vice-President for Outreach, succeeds Grant Potulny as AHCA President. Potulny recently resigned as head coach at Northern Michigan University to take a position as head coach of the Hartford Wolfpack, the New York Rangers AHL affiliate. Wiedler begins a three-year term as AHCA President.

“I want to thank Forrest Karr, Brett Petersen, Joe Bertagna, and the rest of the AHCA Membership for this opportunity,” said Wiedler. “The AHCA has played a major role in shaping countless coaching careers as well as molding the landscape of hockey in the United States. I’m honored to play a role within that eco system and excited to aid in the growth of our game.”

Also beginning new duties today is Forrest Karr. The Director of Athletics at the University of Minnesota Duluth, Karr starts his tenure as AHCA Executive Director today, becoming just the second person to hold the title since 1991. Joe Bertagna, who served as Executive Director for the past 33 years, begins a new job today as AHCA Media Director.

“Thank you to Joe Bertagna for ensuring a smooth transition and to the AHCA officers, governors and members for such a warm welcome over the last few months,” said Karr. “I look forward to helping the women’s and men’s coaches take the association in the direction they choose to go and continuing to advocate for the sport.”

Providing some continuity for the AHCA will be Secretary-Treasurer Brett Petersen of Gustavus-Adolphus. A longtime AHCA officer, Petersen returns for his third year in this position. He completed a 24-year coaching career at Gustavus last year and now serves as Director of Club Sports.

2024-25 AHCA Officers, Governors and Staff
President: Steve Wiedler, Vermont
VP, Men’s Issues: Andy Slaggert, Notre Dame
VP, Women’s Issues: Grant Kimball, Yale
VP, Convention Planning: Zach McKelvie, Army West Point
VP, Membership: Ann Ninnemann, UW-Stevens Point
VP, Outreach: Maura Crowell, Dartmouth
VP, Sponsorships: Rico Blasi, St. Thomas
Past-President: Casey Jones, Cornell

2024-25 AHCA Governors
Mare MacDougall-Bari, St. Lawrence
Max Gavin, Boston College
Jeff Giesen, Minnesota State
Roger Grillo, USA Hockey
Sean Hogan, College Hockey Inc.
Sadie Lundqust, College Hockey Inc.
Drew Michals, Holy Cross
Eric Sorenson, UMass Lowell
Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Holley Tyng, Colby
Sean Walsh, Southern New Hampshire

2024-25 AHCA Staff
Executive Director: Forrest Karr, Minnesota Duluth
Secretary-Treasurer: Brett Petersen, Gustavus Adolphus
Media Director: Joe Bertagna
Membership Administrator: Kathy Bertagna