Yale’s Mark Bolding is 2022 Winner of the CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award

For leading his team into the NCAA National Collegiate Championship Semifinals in a record-setting year, Mark Bolding of Yale University has been chosen CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year. This is the first such honor at the Division I Level for Bolding, a four-time Coach of the Year as a Division III head coach.

Mark Bolding was named Yale’s Susan Cavanagh Head Coach for Women’s Ice Hockey in April of 2019, and his first year with the Bulldogs was a memorable one. However, his second season was by far the best in the history of the program, and he was named 2021-22 ECAC Coach of the Year. Bolding is the first Yale coach to lead a women’s team to any NCAA “final four” event.

His 2021-22 squad broke the school record for wins (26), ECAC wins (16), shutouts (10), goals (122), shorthanded goals (9) and more, while finishing second (Yale best) in the standings. The Elis have been ranked among the top 10 most of the season in both the Pairwise and national polls. His second Yale team won the program’s first conference semifinal, hosted the ECAC Championship Weekend for the first time and earned its first NCAA appearance.

Bolding took over as the 11th head coach in Yale Women’s Ice Hockey history after building a Division III national powerhouse at his alma mater, Norwich University, which captured national championships in 2011 and 2018.

During his tenure at Norwich, he experienced record-setting success and compiled a 266-68-22 (.778) overall record. He guided the Cadets to the NCAA Division III national semifinals seven times and won nine New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) titles.

Bolding became the seventh coach in NCAA Division III history to reach the 200-win milestone. He was named the American Hockey Coaches’ Association (AHCA) National Coach of the Year three straight seasons (2010, 11, 12) and won a fourth time in 2018.

Bolding served two stints as an assistant coach for the Norwich men’s hockey team under Mike McShane. During the 1999-2000 season, Bolding helped the Norwich men win their first national championship with a dramatic 2-1 win over Wisconsin-Superior.

A native of Red Deer, Alberta, Bolding was a standout defenseman during his collegiate playing days at Norwich, serving as the team captain for three of his four seasons. Bolding finished his NU career with 94 points. His 73 assists put him alongside the all-time career assist leaders at the school. In 2005, Bolding was inducted into the Norwich University Athletic Hall of Fame.

Bolding resides in New Haven with his wife, Kari, and their five children: Christian, Corinne, Dayne, Kylee and Makenna. Bolding was assisted this season by Grant Kimball, Erica Kromm and Mackenzie Bruch. The runner-up for this year’s CCM/AHCA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year Award was Nadine Muzerall of the Ohio State University.

CCMThe CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Winners of the CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year Award
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2017 Maura Crowell, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Greg Fargo, Colgate
2019 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2020 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2021 Dave Flint, Northeastern
2022 Mark Bolding, Yale